Ice Station by Matthew Reilly

Ice Station
Author: Matthew Reilly
Publisher: Ullstein eBooks
ISBN: 3843706522
Size: 20.32 MB
Page: 656
Release: 2013-09-13

Book Description
Shane Schofields Elitetruppe wird in das weiße Nichts der Antarktis entsandt: Wissenschaftler haben auf einem Routine-Tauchgang mitten in einer Schicht aus über 100 Millionen Jahre altem Eis ein riesiges Objekt gefunden. Ein Objekt aus Metall. Doch plötzlich verschwinden die Männer spurlos in der eiskalten Tiefe des Ozeans. Ein Wettlauf um Leben und Tod in der weißen Hölle der Antarktis beginnt.



Ice Station Zebra by Alistair MacLean

Ice Station
Author: Alistair MacLean
Publisher: Fawcett
ISBN: 9780449238851
Size: 55.11 MB
Page:
Release: 1981-10-12

Book Description
The Dolphin, pride of America's nuclear fleet, is the only submarine capable of attempting the rescue of a British meteorological team trapped on the polar ice cap. The officers of the Dolphin know well the hazards of such an assignment. What they do not know is that the rescue attempt is really a cover-up for one of the most desperate espionage missions of the Cold War -- and that the Dolphin is heading straight for sub-zero disaster, facing hidding sabotage, murder . . . and a deadly, invisible enemy . . .



Ice Station Nautilus by Rick Campbell

Ice Station
Author: Rick Campbell
Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 1800320698
Size: 54.79 MB
Page: 336
Release: 2020-08-10

Book Description
Trapped in the frozen depths, and they’re running out of time... Russia's new ballistic missile submarine is being deployed on its first patrol while America's newest fast-attack submarine, North Dakota, is assigned to trail it and collect intel. As the Russian submarine heads under the polar ice cap, its sonar reveals the trailing American sub and causes the Russians to begin a radical evasive maneuver. This fails and the submarines collide, sending both to the bottom. The Americans send a new submarine and a SEAL team to establish a camp and stage a rescue. But the Russian special forces team is also there, with far more sinister motives. As the men in the North Dakota struggle to survive, the SEAL team battles for possession of the submarine, and for their lives. Rick Campbell's Ice Station Nautilus is an epic battle above and below the ice, perfect for fans of Tom Clancy, Stephen Coonts and James Deegan.



Ice Station by Matthew Reilly

Ice Station
Author: Matthew Reilly
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 0330515985
Size: 15.90 MB
Page: 704
Release: 2011-03-25

Book Description
At a remote US ice station in Antarctica, a team of scientists has made an amazing discovery. They found something unbelievable buried deep below the surface - trapped inside a layer of ice 400 million years old. Something made of metal...something which shouldn't be there...it's the discovery of a lifetime, a discovery of immeasurable value. And a discovery men will kill for. Led by the enigmatic Lieutenant Shane Schofield, a crack team of US Marines is rushed to the ice station to secure this bizarre discovery for their nation. Meanwhile other countries have developed the same ideas, and are ready to pursue it swiftly and ruthlessly. Fortunately, Schofield's men are a tough unit, all set to follow their leader into hell. They soon discover they just did... 'For lots of lethal violence involving high-tech weaponry. For thrilling escapes from the jaws of death. For cliffhanging suspense on just about every page...Ice Station delivers the action-thriller goods with all the explosive fire power of a machine pistol' West Australian



Ice Station Nautilus by Rick Campbell

Ice Station
Author: Rick Campbell
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 1466883553
Size: 38.20 MB
Page: 432
Release: 2016-06-28

Book Description
Russia's new ballistic missile submarine, Yuriy Dolgorukiy, is being deployed on its first patrol while America's newest fast attack submarine, North Dakota, is assigned to trail it and collect intel. As the Russian submarine heads under the polar ice cap, its sonar readings reveal the trailing American sub and cause the Russians to begin a radical, evasive maneuver. This, however, fails and the submarines collide, resulting in damage that sends both to the bottom. The Americans immediately set up a rescue mission, sending a new submarine and a SEAL team to establish an ice camp---Ice Station Nautilus---and stage a rescue. The Russians also send men and material, ostensibly to rescue their own men, but the Russian Special Forces team is also there to take the American base camp and the American sub, leaving no survivors or traces of their actions. As the men in North Dakota struggle to survive, the SEAL team battles for possession of the submarine. Rick Campbell's Ice Station Nautilus is an epic battle above and below the ice, Special Forces against SEALs, submarine against submarine, with survival on the line.



Ice Station by Ruth Slavid

Ice Station
Author: Ruth Slavid
Publisher: Park Book
ISBN: 9783906027661
Size: 52.66 MB
Page: 96
Release: 2015

Book Description
For more than fifty years, Halley Research Station—located on the Brunt Ice Shelf in Antarctica's Weddell Sea—has collected a continuous stream of meteorological and atmospheric data critical to our understanding of polar atmospheric chemistry, rising sea levels, and the depletion of the ozone layer. Since the station's establishment in 1956, there have been six Halley stations, each designed to withstand the difficult climatic conditions. The first four stations were crushed by snow. The fifth featured a steel platform, allowing it to rise above snow cover, but it, too, had to be abandoned when it moved too far from the mainland, making its habitation precarious. Completed in 2012, Halley VI is the winning design from a competition in collaboration with the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA). Like its predecessor, Halley VI can rise to avoid snow accumulation, but it is also the first research station able to be fully relocatable, its eight modules situated atop ski-fitted hydraulic legs. This book tells the story of this iconic piece of architecture's design and creation, supplemented with many illustrations, including plans and previously unpublished photographs.



Exploring Polar Frontiers by William James Mills

Ice Station
Author: William James Mills
Publisher: ABC-CLIO
ISBN: 1576074226
Size: 35.44 MB
Page: 797
Release: 2003

Book Description
Presents a reference to the efforts of humans to conquer the North and South Poles, with more than 500 biographical, geographical, and subject entries; a chronology of expeditions; and maps, illustrations, and photographs.



Ice Station A Scarecrow Novel 1 by Matthew Reilly

Ice Station
Author: Matthew Reilly
Publisher: Pan Australia
ISBN: 0752228188
Size: 29.87 MB
Page: 624
Release: 2007-11-10

Book Description
The breakout edge-of-your-seat bestseller from Australia's favourite novelist, author of the Jack West Jr series and new novel The Three Secret Cities. "Some of the wildest and most sustained battles in an action thrilled in a long time...non-stop action, lots of explosions--and a little bit of conspiracy." Chicago Tribune BOOK 1 IN THE SCARECROW SERIES At a remote ice station in Antarctica, a team of US scientists has found something buried deep within a 100-million-year-old layer of ice. Something made of metal. In a land without boundaries, there are no rules. Every country would kill for this prize. A team of crack United States marines is sent to the station to secure the discovery. Their leader - Lieutenant Shane Schofield, call-sign: SCARECROW. They are a tight unit, tough and fearless. They would follow their leader into hell. They just did... Fans of Clive Cussler, Tom Clancy and Michael Crichton will love Matthew Reilly.



Popular Science by

Ice Station
Author:
Publisher:
ISBN:
Size: 27.78 MB
Page: 104
Release: 1992-01

Book Description
Popular Science gives our readers the information and tools to improve their technology and their world. The core belief that Popular Science and our readers share: The future is going to be better, and science and technology are the driving forces that will help make it better.